Where Are You AT

Phoebe Mathews

Écrit par Tanya Davies
Publié le

Mon nom est Phoebe Mathews. Je suis thérapeute du sport agréée pour l’équipe de soccer féminin de l’Université Carleton ainsi que les Ottawa Outlaws, une équipe professionnelle de disque d’équipe. Je pratique également dans deux cliniques à Ottawa : Sage Wellnesset Proactive Athletic Therapy.

Sur cette photo, je travaille avec un patient de la clinique qui souffre de douleur sacro-iliaque gauche (douleur à la région lombaire). Lors de l’évaluation, j’ai remarqué que son os iliaque droit était incliné vers l’avant, ce qui signifie que son bassin ne bougeait pas correctement, était désaligné et basculé vers l’avant. Afin de remettre son bassin dans une position normale/neutre, j’ai utilisé l’énergétique musculaire.  

 La patiente, âgée de 29 ans, court environ 100 km par semaine. Elle s’entraîne pour un marathon qui aura lieu en mai. 

Le but de l’énergétique musculaire est d’utiliser la contraction d’un muscle pour remettre le bassin dans une position neutre. Pour ce faire, je fais basculer son bassin vers l’arrière tandis qu’elle est allongée sur le dos et fléchit la hanche jusqu’à ce que je puisse ressentir une résistance. Ensuite, la patiente pousse doucement sur mon épaule, en contractant le muscle ischiojambier pour faire basculer le bassin plus loin vers l’arrière. Je répète ce mouvement plusieurs fois pour faire fléchir la hanche de plus en plus, jusqu’à qu’elle atteigne une flexion maximale. Ensuite, je réévalue le positionnement et le mouvement du bassin en utilisant les mêmes points de repère. 

Le traitement représente la réadaptation dans la gamme de soins de la thérapie du sport. La thérapie manuelle est un aspect très important de la réadaptation et la prévention des blessures, puisque la plupart des blessures nécessitent une guidance manuelle pour aider à augmenter la mobilité et les mouvements appropriés.

Where Are You AT

Phoebe Mathews

By Tanya Davies
Published

My name is Phoebe Mathews and I’m a Certified Athletic Therapist. I’m an AT for the Carleton University women’s soccer team and the Ottawa Outlaws, a professional Ultimate Frisbee team. I also work in two clinics in Ottawa: Sage Wellness Proactive Athletic Therapy.

In this photo I’m working in the clinic with a patient who has left sacroiliac pain (pain on the lower left side of the back). In the assessment I found that she had an anteriorly rotated ilium on the right, meaning her pelvis was not moving properly and was out of alignment and rotated in a forward position. In order to bring the pelvis back into a neutral/normal position I applied a muscle energy technique.

The patient is a 29-year-old runner, who runs about 100km a week and is training for a marathon in May. 

The goal of muscle energy is to use the contraction of a muscle to bring the pelvis back into a neutral position. In order to do this, I bring the patient into a posteriorly rotated pelvis. I do this while the client is lying on their back and bend their hip until I find resistance. I follow this with getting the patient to gently push into my shoulder, contracting the hamstring to pull the pelvis further into that posterior rotation. I continue this multiple times, bringing the hip more and more into a flexed position until maximum flexion is reached. After, I always retest the positioning and movement of the pelvis, using the same landmarks. 

The treatment represents rehabilitation in the AT spectrum of care. Manual therapy is a very important aspect in injury rehabilitation and injury prevention in Athletic Therapy, because most injuries need manual guidance to help increase mobility and proper movement.

Contributing Athletic Therapist
Phoebe Mathews

CAT(C)

Phoebe graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology from McGill University, then studied Athletic Therapy at Mount Royal University in Calgary. She is currently studying Osteopathy at the Canadian College of Osteopathy in Toronto. Phoebe has worked as an AT in many different sports, including soccer, hockey, football, rugby, and ultimate frisbee. Her goal as an AT is to educate and guide athletes and non-athletes toward feeling the healthiest they can in their sport or in their daily lives.